What is the smallest cat on earth?

The black-footed cat or small-spotted cat is recognized by most, as the smallest cat on earth. It is endemic to Southern Africa's southwestern arid zone. Asia's smallest is the rusty spotted cat and rivals Southern Africa's black footed cat as the smallest in the world.