How does an observer work in minecraft?

The Observer block is a Block Update Detector block, that will send a short Redstone pulse, if the block it is facing gets updated (mined, placed, opened, closed, etc.). They are placed like Pistons. The Observer will detect block updates on the face of the larger red square.