Does corn starch thicken gravy?

Corn starch can thicken gravy. It is the preferred thickener for many oriental sauces and leaves a slightly glossy look to the sauce. Traditionally gravy, in the western cuisine, is thickened with wheat flour. Other thickening agents include arrowroot and potato starch.