What was the first area code?

The first area code was rolled out in 1951 to New Jersey when the 2 0 1 area code was born. Because this was still the time of rotary dial phones, the areas with the biggest populations received the easiest to dial codes. New York received 2 1 2, Los Angeles got 2 1 3, and Chicago became 3 1 2.