How do you eat sugar cane?

Sugar Cane is best cut in sections about 5 inches long. Take a knife & carefully cut the hard outer bark off lengthwise. The inner fibers can be cut further lengthwise, and chewed to release the sugary syrup. When no more syrup is released, throw that pulp away & start on the next section.