What is a bill wither?

William Harrison Withers Jr. was an American singer-songwriter and musician. He had several hits over a career spanning 18 years, including Ain't No Sunshine, Grandma's Hands, Use Me, Lean on Me, Lovely Day and Just the Two of Us. Withers won three Grammy Awards and was nominated for six more.