Why is betelgeuse rated p. g.?

Beetle juice, played by michael keaton, drops an F-bomb and grabs his genitals, in the 1988 theatrical version that the Motion Picture Association of America rated. The p g rating stayed on the film even though it was cut out on the home video release.