What do tears come from?

All tears come out of tear glands, or lacrimal (say: LAH-krum-ul) glands, found way up under your upper eyelids. Tears wash down from the glands and over your eyes. Some of the tears drain out of your eyes through tear ducts, or lacrimal ducts.