Where is the word ketchup come from?

The word ketchup is derived from the Chinese word ke-tsiap, meaning a pickled fish sauce. It was mainly added to recipes to season a dish, versus served as a condiment. It is believed this fish sauce made its way from Vietnam to the southeastern part of China, where it became a standard food item.