How is coffee made decaffeinated?

There are several ways to decaffeinate coffee but the most prevalent is to soak them in a solvent – usually methylene chloride or ethyl acetate. The beans are first soaked in water and then covered in a solution containing of these solvents. The caffeine is then drawn out by the solvent.