What is a bad air quality?

The Air Quality Index (AQI) was created by the EPA to monitor air quality based on 5 major air pollutants. The AQI scale is 0-500. When AQI levels are 151-200 the air quality is considered unhealthy. When AQI reaches 201-300 the air quality is considered very unhealthy. An AQI of 300+ is hazardous.

---

Air quality is considered satisfactory, and air pollution poses little or no risk. "Moderate" AQI is 51 to 100. Air quality is acceptable; however, for some pollutants there may be a moderate health concern for a very small number of people. ... "Very Unhealthy" AQI is 201 to 300.

---

The EPA calculates the Air Quality Index (AQI) for five major air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act and is often measured in Particulate Matter (PM) and or Ozone. Good (0 to 50) Moderate (51 to 100) Unhealthy (151 to 200) Very Unhealthy (201 to 300) "Hazardous" (greater than 300)