What is a bad air quality?

The Air Quality Index (AQI) was created by the EPA to monitor air quality based on 5 major air pollutants. The AQI scale is 0-500. When AQI levels are 151-200 the air quality is considered unhealthy. When AQI reaches 201-300 the air quality is considered very unhealthy. An AQI of 300+ is hazardous.