Is glutamate gluten?

Glutamate is an amino acid and is not related to gluten which is a protein in wheat.

---

Glutamate is not gluten. Glutamate is one type of a single amino acid, that is, the smallest unit of a protein. Gluten is much larger; two proteins of many amino acids. Some people cannot digest gluten, that is break it down into it's smallest units.