What does a. r. in a. r. fifteen stand for?

Armalite Rifle

---

The “AR” in “AR-15” rifle stands for ArmaLite rifle, after the company that developed it in the 1950s. “AR” does NOT stand for “assault rifle” or “automatic rifle.”