How much rain does it take to make ten inches of snow?

Most weather services say that, on average, the amount of snow is 10 times the rainfall volume, that is, 1 inch of rain is equivalent to 10 inches of snowfall. This ratio is not only dependent on temperature but requires a particular amount of wind-chill as well.