Do ants bite or sting?

An ant bite occurs when an ant bites using their mandibles and mouth to bite human skin. Bite differs from sting: ants sting with their stinger, the caudal-most part of their bodies. Fire ants grasp the skin (bite) then inject venom with their stinger.