Do birds burp?

There is no documented evidence that birds burp, though ornithologists believe that there is nothing which physiologically prevents them from doing so. However, since birds do not have the same set of gas-producing bacteria that mammals have, gas rarely builds up in birds' gastrointestinal tracts.