What is the uss botany bay?

Star Trek fans know Botany Bay, S.S. is a nuclear-powered vessel of the DY -100 class, and was Earth's standard interplanetary transport of the late 20th century. Named after the Australian penal colony, the ship was launched in 1996 with refugees from the Eugenics Wars, namely Khan Noonien Singh.