Do we share d. n. a. with a banana?

Because all living things on Earth share a common ancestor, the DNA code in different organisms is much more similar than you might expect. It's often said that we share 50% of our DNA with bananas! ... We do in fact share about 50% of our genes with plants – including bananas.