What is a reef?

A reef is a ridge or shoal of rock, coral or similar relatively stable material, lying beneath the surface of a natural body of water.

---

A reef is a ridge of material at or near the surface of the ocean.Reefs can occur naturally. Natural reefs are made of rocks or the skeletons of small animals called corals.Reefs can also be artificial—created by human beings.