How do you tell if a baby chick is a boy or a girl?

The sex of most breeds of chicken cannot be determined at hatching. Usually, by 6 to 8 weeks of age, the combs and wattles of male chicks will be larger and redder than those of females. Some you may not be able to determine the sex until they are adults and they either start to crow or lay eggs!