Are calicoes only female?

Mostly, calico cats are female, but males do rarely happen. When the calico pattern exists in a male, it’s because the cat has three sex chromosomes: two X, one Y. The X X Y combination is a genetic rarity that occasionally shows up in cats, and the Y is needed for male and the X for calico pattern.