Where did christmas stockings originate?

The tradition of the Christmas stocking is thought to originate from the life of Saint Nicholas - Nicholas hails from Patara, a city of Lycia, in Asia Minor - and the custom was first observed in Europe, though children would simply use their every day socks.

---

The origin of the Christmas stocking is thought to originate in the life of Saint Nicholas. While there are no written records of the origin of the Christmas Stocking