How long does a plastic bag take to decompose?

It takes 500 (or more) years for a plastic bag to degrade in a landfill. Unfortunately the bags don't break down completely but instead photo-degrade, becoming microplastics that absorb toxins and continue to pollute the environment.

---

Due to the plastic bags durability it takes centuries for them to decompose.