Where do peanuts grow?

Many people are surprised to learn that peanuts grow beneath the soil and do not grow on trees like pecans or walnuts. They grow in the warm climates of Asia, Africa, Australia, and North and South America. As of 2019, the United States planted about two percent of the world acreage of peanuts.