Who is alice in alice in wonderland?

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is an 1865 English children's tale by Lewis Carroll. A young girl named Alice falls through a rabbit hole into a fantasy world of anthropomorphic creatures. It is seen as a prime example of the literary nonsense genre.