What is a key on a map?

A map key is a table of symbols drawn on a map to represent cities, towns, roads, rest stops, camping areas, types of roads, terrain, or whatever is drawn on a map. These symbols have gradually become more standardized as map making has progressed. A key and its explanation is printed on most maps.