How do you control a llama in minecraft?

Once you mount the llama, it will be tamed and you should see red hearts appear around the llama. Now, you can sit on the llama but you can not control the movement of the llama. Unfortunately, you can not put a saddle on a llama to control its movements but you can use a lead and guide the llama.