What is pepper made from?

Pepper is the dried, ground seeds of the pepper plant.

---

Peppercorns are actually a tiny fruit, the drupe of a flowering vine known as piper nigrum, grown in tropical regions, native to the Indian subcontinent and in Southeast Asia. Some of the best peppercorns in the world come from the Malabar Coast in the Indian state of Kerala.