What was the first shark attack?

Sharks have been on Earth for 450 million years, so the first shark attack was probably shortly after the first early human ancestor started swimming around in the ocean. It was so long ago that they didn't have writing to make a record of the attack.

---

The remains of a Neolithic man were unearthed by Oxford University in a 3,000 year old burial site near the coast of the Seto Inland Sea. He has now been confirmed as the oldest shark attack victim. With 790 wounds and slashes the remains suggest the attack could've invoved more than one shark.