What is the definition of being furloughed?

A furlough is “a temporary layoff from work.” People who get furloughed usually get to return to their job after a short period of time. Layoffs are when an employer dismisses employees. We generally use the word layoff when a person is permanently let go from a job.

---

Laid off.