Is a coffee bean a fruit or a vegetable?

Coffee is neither a fruit nor a vegetable. Coffee is a seed. The coffee shrub grows little red fruits called coffee cherries. Coffee, mislabeled as a bean is the seed of that coffee fruit. Once dried and roasted it is the coffee we all love.