Is spontaneous combustion a real thing?

Yes, very much so. It occurs when the temperature of a material reaches it's ignition point due to the slow build up of heat generated from oxidation or fermentation occurring within it. Interesting examples include damp haybales, oily rags, and large collections of pistachio nuts.