What is a four x. game?

4X (abbreviation of Explore, Expand, Exploit, Exterminate) is a subgenre of strategy-based computer and board games, and include both turn-based and real-time strategy titles. The gameplay involves building an empire. The first 4X computer games were turn-based, but real-time 4X games are common.