Where is shakshuka?

Shakshuka is not a place, but a food. Shakshuka is a popular Middle Eastern & North African dish that may date back all the way to the Ottoman Empire. It's a Maghrebi dish of eggs poached in a sauce of tomatoes, olive oil, peppers, onion & garlic, spiced with cumin, paprika & cayenne pepper.