Where did rockabye baby come from?

One legend says in the 1700s, Kate and Luke Kenyon lived in a hollow yew tree. They hollowed out a branch of the tree to make a cradle for their babies. Another legend says Native American women put babies in birch bark cradles then hung the cradles from tree branches to rock the babies to sleep