Did clint eastwood serve in world war two?

Eastwood said that he tried to enroll at Seattle University in 1951,but instead was drafted into the US Army during the Korean War.Actually, he'd been a lifeguard at Fort Ord in northern California for his entire stint in the military,"said Eastwood's former longtime companion Sondra Locke