What is the alligator and a crocodile?

The difference between an alligator and a crocodile is that alligators have a U-shaped snout while crocodiles have a V-shaped one. Alligators have only their top teeth showing when their mouth is closed, while crocodiles show both upper and lower teeth interlaced.