How big is a submarine?

The U.S. Ohio class ballistic missile submarine is 560 feet long and a beam of 42 feet, with a submerged displacement of 18,450 tons. In 1885, the Nordenfelt 1 had a length of 64 feet displacing 56 tons and a cruising range of 130 nautical miles. It was armed with a single spar torpedo.