What is the cheese stand alone?

Meaning to be alone:This idiom is from an 1826 German children's song,The Farmer in the Dell.The farmer takes a wife, the wife takes a child, etc. The rat takes the cheese, the rat takes the cheese. The cheese stands alone, the cheese stands alone,Hi-ho, the derry-o, the cheese stands alone.