Can a squirrel be a pet?

Squirrels have not been domesticated like cats and dogs, and therefore do not make good pets.

---

Squirrels were protected in wildlife conservation and exotic pet laws. Today, it's illegal to keep a squirrel as a pet in many states. Animal experts believe this is a good thing, because squirrels are wild animals that, despite their cuteness, should remain in the wild.