What does t. o. u. r. e. t. t. e. s. mean?

Tourette syndrome, or Tourette's, is a common neurodevelopmental disorder that is characterized by multiple movement (motor) tics and at least one vocal (phonic) tic. Common tics are blinking, coughing, throat clearing, sniffing, and facial movements.