Why is copper antimicrobial?

Oligodynamic effect, described in 1893 is the prime feature of copper, and metal icons on mold fungi algae and harmful organisms. In 312 citations from 1892 to 1973, researchers at Battelle Columbus Laboratories studied "bacteriostatic and sanitizing properties of copper and copper alloy surfaces",