How did the olympic crash?

RSM Olympic was a British ocean liner and the leed ship of the White star Line’s trio of Olympic-class liners. On her 5th voyage on 20 September 1911 she collided with the British cruiser HMS Hawke. The collision took place as Olympic and Hawke were running parallel to each other through the Solent.