Is ketchup a vegetarian?

Most ketchups are made from tomatoes, vinegar, salt, spices and some kind of sweetener, like sugar or high fructose corn syrup. This makes most of them vegan. However, some are sweetened with cane sugar which might have been filtered through bone char, making it not vegan.