How common are identical twins?

The odds of giving birth to identical twins is about 3 in 1,000, while the birth rate for all twins is roughly 33 in 1,000. For pregnancies resulting from in-vitro fertilization the odds of giving birth to identical twins doubles to about 6 in 1,000.