Why do puppies lick?

Puppies lick because they orally fixated and learn about things with their nose and mouth, if it smells interesting it needs tasting.

---

Dogs lick because it is a sign of affection. They also lick because they like the taste of your salty skin. It releases pleasurable endorphins in dogs which give them a feeling of comfort and pleasure.