What is a crab?

Crabs are decapod or 10-legged crustaceans which typically have a very short projecting "tail", usually hidden entirely under the thorax. They live in all the world's oceans, in fresh water, and on land, are generally covered with a thick exoskeleton, and have a single pair of pincers.