What is a fart?

Farts can be methane gas caused by fermentation of foods in the intestines or carbon dioxide cause by consuming fizzy beverages. Excess starches and excess sugars cause fermentation in the intestines causing gas to be released hence farts. Allergic reaction to a food can also cause excessive gas.