What type of animal is a llama?

A llama is a camelid, which is a mammal in the Camelidae family. Other camelids are Bactrian and dromedary camels, alpacas, vicuñas, and guanacos. Camelids are hoofed animals with long necks and legs, and they eat only plant material.