Is it bad luck to take your christmas tree down before new years day?

The main tradition regarding Christmas decorations is that they should stay up for the full 12 days of Christmas, so not coming down until after January 5th.

---

Some superstitious people take the tree down before midnight on New Year's Eve to avoid any bad luck in the next year. However, January 5th is considered the 12th Day of Christmas and this is the traditional day to take a Christmas tree down.